I miss yogurt!

 I found out over a year ago, through an elimination diet, that dairy products and my body do not agree. It’s nothing violent; I won’t die if I indulge in a slice of cheddar now and then. However, with any regular consumption, I can watch in shock and disgust as my abdomen bloats and makes my jeans VERY uncomfortable for the rest of the day. And I gain weight. So, yeah, not a dangerous allergy, but I feel better if I avoid dairy.

And I miss yogurt. I used to (actually still do) adore yogurt. Home-made, especially. I would make it all winter long by just setting jars of starter on the cool side of the wood stove in the morning, pop it in the fridge before bed, and the next morning it’s beautiful, smooth, creamy, tangy… add fruit and a dash of stevia and breakfast was set to go. I lost the taste for store-bought flavored yogurt, the flavoring is so fake and it’s always highly over-sweetened. (You know your tastes have changed when you whip up a dessert to take to a friends’ gathering and find out that everyone thinks you forgot to sweeten it. Tastes good to me…)

I miss yogurt.

I haven’t eaten any in months. You will laugh (I hope) when I tell you that this morning, I pulled up an exercise video to help with my neck tension and it made me think of yogurt. It was a yoga video, you see. Yoga, yogurt. Follow? Yeeaaahhhh. So instead of stretching my ligaments, I googled how to make coconut-milk yogurt. Found a recipe that I even have all the ingredients for; simply coconut milk and probiotic capsules (let over from this summer’s adventures with Lyme-slaying amoxicillin). I haven’t made it yet, but believe me when I tell you a jar of it is going in my oven just as soon as I do my yogurt video. I mean, yoga video.

Image

Leave a Reply

