Strawberries and sisters.

My sister Fauna and I went berry picking today. She utterly shocked me by stating that she’d never been strawberry picking beside when we grew our own eons ago. She DID grow up in the same house I did, so I’m not sure how she missed out on that. It’s true, mom doesn’t care for it because even though they are fresh and ‘real’, farm berries still are not the same as home-grown*, so I guess she wouldn’t have taken us, but I’ve been a number of times with our aunt or friends.

We got enough to freeze some, eat loads fresh and I also want to experiment with chia-seed jam. I keep seeing very interesting recipes, and since I am not a sugar-user in this time of my life, I have hopes that this stuff might be amazing. IMG_0009

There’s a farm in VT with great strawberry beds, not to mention a great view across the lake of the NY mountains. We alternated between being fried by the sun and hearing thunder in the distance the entire time we were there.

IMG_0010

 

IMG_0014

As I was saying… it was hot… and very sticky. Kneeling in the straw was a bad idea.

IMG_0015

I think the heat is getting to her…

IMG_0012

The fruits of our labor! The picking was good, and we had nearly 30 lbs of berries in about 1 1/2 hours. Now… we are enjoying the cooler temps. that a thunder storm has brought us, and we’ve planned a Bleak House marathon while hulling strawberries the rest of the afternoon.

Have a loverly Monday, all.

*I wish I could remember what variety we used to grow, but they were soft and sweet and had so much flavor, and would practically melt in your mouth. Most varieties available now focus more on being firm so they are easily transported. Basically, strawberries as I knew them growing up, did not crunch. At all. They were incapable.

2 thoughts on “Strawberries and sisters.

    • I know!! And I was thinking of you! And I thought of inviting you and having you just sit there in the straw as I throw berries at you, but I honestly thought that might be more sad than anything else. 😦

Leave a Reply

