In the heat of the morning…

It’s hot today, folks. I know, I know… those of you who live in the southern states are laughing a little hysterically at me, but trust me, it’s hot. It was 92* in the shade, and we live without air conditioning, so chew on that for a moment. 😉

This morning when I got up, it was already hot. And sticky. SO very sticky. My bed sheets feel damp and clingy because of the humidity. Blech. IMG_0005

For breakfast, I wanted a green smoothie. It’s what I have for breakfast most days lately, and I looooove them. I nearly always start with a heafty handful of baby spinach, one of chopped kale, half and avocado, a good long slosh of almond milk and… whatever frozen fruit I have that sounds good to me.

I’d forgotten that we didn’t buy spinach the other day because mom’s in coming on in the garden. I opened the fridge looking for it, and when I realized  there was none I kind of stared in glum denial…

Yes. I had to go outside in the blazing sun and PICK spinach for my breakfast smoothie. This isn’t a big deal unless you know me and getting up in the morning. It’s not a pretty thing. But actually, it was a nice stretch, bending and hunkering a good 15 minutes in the wet, steaming row of baby spinach.

And it’s sooooo much cheaper than the grocery store… currently organic baby spinach is running $6-7 a pound if you buy the big box of it. Several pounds costs us less than $2 for seed. Take THAT, world. 😉

It was worth it, the heat and bugs and grogginess and all. I had a scrumptious, nutrition dense and highly refreshing blackberry-strawberry ‘green’ smoothie, and even shared some with my dad, who said it looked disgusting and sucked it down in a flash.  IMG_0007

Leave a Reply

