Green Juice #1

green juice

 

My apologies for the horrible, horrible photo. It’s 11 pm and I just realized about 20 minutes ago that I wanted to have green juice ready for my breakfast in the morning, on the fly to work. So, I made a batch of what has become my personal favorite juice, bottled it, (dotcha like the bottle? Isn’t it adorable? T.J. Maxx. $4.) and wanted it share it with you. I just stuck a pad of newsprint paper behind it to block the other, more hideous clutter from view. I wanted to illustrate just how GREEN this stuff is. I love it! This is what The Jolly Green Giant drinks for breakfast, I’m pretty sure. He sits around with The Hulk, discussing how to get more kids to eat their vegetables.

Jolly Green Juice

  • 6 kale leaves (rough estimate, since they can be varying sizes.  It’s about 2 cups, torn from the stems into small pieces, which go through my juicer MUCH easier  thank whole leaves. Also, since I stopped trying to use the stems I’ve noticed a decreased level of bitterness.)
  • 1 large cucumber, peeled.
  • 1 bunch of mint (don’t be scared of mint, it won’t be as strong as you might think.)
  • 3 large stalks of celery
  • 2 ripe pears
  • 1 apple
  • 1 lime, peeled
  • A large knob of fresh ginger

This makes something like a quart of juice, maybe a bit more. I got the jug above plus a 12 oz glass full. If you drink it right away, I would definitely pour it over ice, since most of the fruit I keep at room temperature.  Tepid thick green juice is not appetizing. After it’s good and chilled there’s no need for ice. I do add a few drops of liquid stevia to help counter the bitterness. I know that nutrition starts to deteriorate quickly after the fresh produce has been juiced, but kept well chilled in a glass container, it’s good for up to three days. Some nutrition may escape, but there’s still SO much more left than you would get by not drinking it at all. Juicing every day is hard to do with a busy schedule, so if you need cut it down to every two or three days to make it happen, DO IT. Don’t let the “You have to drink it absolutely fresh or diiiiiiiiiiiiiieeeeeeeee” drama queens scare you away from making steps in the right direction.

I also love learning to use alkaline veggies such as the kale, cucumber and celery to help balance the overabundance of acidic foods that we eat. It makes for a comfy tummy, and if you have problems with acidity, you might want to skip the lime. I never ate a bit of kale in my life before trying green juice. Celery pretty much needs to be smothered in ranch dressing. Cucumbers are only edible in large portions straight from the garden, long and straight and narrow with tiny seeds (which doesn’t describe a single cucumber I’ve ever found in a grocery store. We used to sell them cheap, $.10 a piece, and people would come and buy them by the tens and twenties to eat as snacks. I shudder at the thought of snacking on the fat, gross things from Walmart.), so juicing gets the nutrition from these vegetables into me in a much easier form. Don’t worry, when summer comes, I’ll be eating those cucumbers straight from the garden again. But now I have something to do with the ones that get overgrown.

 

 

 

 

 

One thought on “Green Juice #1

  1. Pingback: Energizing Green Juice | Yoga Freak Noelle

Leave a Reply

