My Christmas season

I have several friends who are attempting the 365 thing this year… you know, where you post a picture of something from your day every day for a year. It is so much fun to keep up with when someone actually does it. I know a few who have; I love the idea, but we all know by now that I’m not good with staying true to a course like that. I might last a week, maybe. So I decided, hey, I can still put up pictures when I feel like it, of whatever I’d like to share with you.  Duh.

So, to start with, here are some highlights from my Christmas season.

IMG_8675

I made sugared rose petals for our Christmas dessert. It was Jubilee Cake, in honor for the Queen’s Jubilee. Two layers of s moist almond cake with clotted cream and raspberries in between. Unfortunately, I didn’t have the right kind of cream to make clotted cream, so I ended up with sorta-thickish but still runny, lumpy cream. Hey, it still tasted good. But it did make me angry at the FDA or whoever it is that thinks we need to have everything ultra-pasteurized. But that’s a different topic…

IMG_8679

Nan used to play card/board games with us all the time growing up, but she’s weakening and rarely feels up to sitting at the dining room table for very long any more. So we brought the game to her. And yes, dear world, I present to you my brother, the idiot. (We’re actually all idiots, but the ladies tend to smile sweetly any time a camera is pointed at them.)

IMG_8685

Aunt Kathy’s Christmas village.

IMG_8696

The three of us together again! Sharyl got to come home for ten days at Christmas this year. We missed her so much last year!

IMG_8713

Next time I get a camera, I want one with a Sports setting. Because then, I wouldn’t have to TELL you that this is Kurt Browning, performing his Singin’ in the Rain routine. Which I got to see live. With my own eyes. Eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee!

IMG_8715

Kacie and I went together to see Stars on Ice. We headed to Lake Placid early and poked around the shops for a few hours, stopped at a pizza parlor, and after the marvelous show she stayed over and we watched the Downton Abbey Christmas special together. And why they called THAT special I will never know. I’m still fuming. But just in case you haven’t seen it yet, I won’t put up any spoilers.

IMG_8723

New teacups from Aunt Kathy (kinda out of order, but I didn’t actually take the picture until today.)

IMG_8725

Just LOOK at this beautiful thing. Mom got me this gorgeous tea kettle for Christmas. From the heft and feel of it, I’m pretty sure it should last me forever. And it’s candy-apple green! Green-apple candy green? Whatever. It looks like candy. And it’s green. ❤

  IMG_8728

Okay, THIS was possibly the most exciting gift I got, in the sense that I actually was squealing and jumping in my seat when I opened it. A is for Adam is a book that we grew up with, and just this past year the ministry that published it re-printed it with new illustrations. Horrible illustrations. When I went to AiG last year I looked at it in the shop and flared my nostrils. The new edition is by no means an improvement from the artistic point of view. The second part of this story is that my sister, who works at AiG now, is good personal friends with the man who did the original illustrations. When Fauna and I visited her last year, we got to meet him. (He’s so nice and HILARIOUS.) So, for Christmas, Sharyl was able to find a couple of the original A is for Adam books, and had Dan sign them, and he voluntarily took it further and did drawings in the front. *grin*

IMG_8727

Happy New Year.

Leave a Reply

