Creativitiy: This is what makes my brain happy.

The first week back to work, about 6 weeks ago, I was very happy to be doing something other than procrastinating and puttering around home (according to me, I was ‘working on my art’.). Working with my hands, creating things, has always brought me the most joy in my day. Christmas wreath making is definitely creative. At least, the first 40 hours or so. After a week of filling orders; cutting the boughs into the proper length pieces for wreaths, making ‘hands’ of balsam, trimming, a piece of cedar or pine, clamp to the frame, rinse, repeat about 1,000 a day… well yeah, my brain has been dying lately. I like creativity, but I do NOT thrive on monotonous repetition. Just reenforcing my previous knowledge the factory work would probably kill me. (All you factory workers out there… I’m not trying to belittle factories. My own dad is a factory worker, and we’ve been very grateful for the dependable job he’s had for over 25 years.)

Today, finally, I was completely caught up on the wreath orders and the front of the shop was full with our own standard wreaths… so there technically wasn’t much I needed to do. My boss told me to just make up some extras to keep out back. Spurred on by Robin, the awesome lady who works there as florist, I took the opportunity to do some different things, use different materials, decorate the wreaths the way I wanted them. I do what I’m told when I work, so unless I have permissions to just go crazy, I keep all the ideas I have under my hat. Nobody’s ever said “Do whatever you want.” before, so it was pretty exciting. 😉 I didn’t even break for lunch until half an hour late, I was having so much fun! My mood was definitely lighter than it had been the last few days; I’d been mentally rehearsing the scenario of dramatically throwing a handful of balsam in the air and stalking out in the middle of the day. *angel*

I snapped a few pictures of my favorite pieces from today. I hope you enjoy them.

IMG_8562

Boxwood and gradating silver balls. Boxwood is so easy to work with!

Click through for more wreaths. 🙂

IMG_8563

The lighting in this one is unfortunately bad. It really is a gorgeous wreath or blue spruce, cedar and seeded eucalyptus (technically budded. Those aren’t seeds, professional floral industry!). The colors were so soft and elegant.

IMG_8565

Balsam, cedar and eucalyptus. I just love the color of the ribbon.

IMG_8566

IMG_8567

Still on the work-bench, here we have blue spruce and cedar, with just a bit of eucalyptus and pine cones to decorate. Yes, I like eucalyptus, so sue me. 😛 Oh, a word of warning: if you ever have the chance to work with blue spruce, wear thick leather gloves. Every single aptly-named needle exists with the sole purpose of trying to KILL YOU. Seriously. There is no such thing as “I’ll just touch it lightly and it won’t hurt.” Nope. It’s “OH MY STARS I DIDN’T EVEN TOUCH IT AND I’M BLEEDING!” Okay, maybe I’m exaggerating, but just wear gloves, okay? It’s so gorgeous, it’s well worth the extra precaution.

IMG_8569

I’m hoping next week to find time to make wreaths for my personal gifts. This was a practice run to see what I like. 😉

IMG_8570

Yeah, I pretty much can’t get over this beautiful stuff.

One thought on “Creativitiy: This is what makes my brain happy.

Leave a Reply

