Summer fun: Strawberry Soda

 

I heart Chef John. Every video he puts up makes me want to go cook. Sometimes, I even have the right ingredients to do so! For the 4th of July, I made his strawberry sodas for my family. Some of them had no comments about it, but others were really thrilled about the extra little touch to make the picnic special. My mom especially was excited about REAL strawberry flavor in her drink. I’m not going to put the recipe up here, because you can follow the video link to find that.

The one thing I will point out is that I made regular strawberry syrup, and then a sugar free version for myself and my dad (one is dieting, the other is diabetic). I did everything the same except for when it’s time to add sugar, I put in the equivalent with a mixture of splenda and stevia. The results were tasty, but not as beautifully clear and sparkling as the real-sugar version. Still.

 

One thought on “Summer fun: Strawberry Soda

  1. Pingback: Summer Fun: Home-Made Cherry Coolatta | Castle of Blue

Leave a Reply

