Strawberry Balsamic Salad Dressing

Just yesterday, I began tinkering with xanthan gum and guar gum as thickeners in my food. I’ve read up on each (and quite frankly have the two entirely confused in my mind… but that’s okay, I use a combination of both in most things. ), and it’s been fun whipping up home made coffee coolattas, thickening the sauce in home-made chinese food-that-has-no-name (can’t use corn starch on hcg) and then tonight, I made salad dressing.

I started with a vinaigrette recipe from my friend Anne’s blog ‘Will Cook For Food’ She’s made a number of mouth-watering salads and dressings, and tonight the strawberries in my refrigerator beckoned me as as I chopped veggies for my salad. (I love salad. I do.) So I decided I would make Anne’s strawberry vinaigrette – a chance you use my immersion blender, yay! And then it struck me that people use xanthan gum in dressings. Or rather, it’s in the dressings you buy at the store. Normally when people talk about home made dressing they complain about  how you have to shake it violently and frantically drizzle before it has a chance to separate again. Or if it’s a creamy dressing it’s because the recipe includes mayo or buttermilk or something terribly bad for you. Xanthan gum is an emulsifier and binder, so… click through below to see what happens.

Strawberry Balsamic Dressing

1/2 cup crushed strawberries

2 Tablespoons extra virgin olive oil

2 Tablespoons balsamic vinegar

1 teaspoon minced garlic

1 Tablespoon water

1 teaspoon sugar or honey (I used stevia)

1/4 teaspoon powdered ginger

salt and pepper to taste

1/4 teaspoon xanthan gum

Blend all ingredients with an immersion blender or in a food processor until smooth.

Drizzle. Consume. Repeat.The flavor combination  here is amazing. Strawberry, balsamic, ginger and garlic… lip-smacking good. Nice, Anne, very nice. 😉

If there happens to be anything left over, refrigerate.

And of course, check out Anne’s cooking blog!

6 thoughts on “Strawberry Balsamic Salad Dressing

  1. IT’S A FAKE!!!! FORGERY!!! INFAMY!! PLAGIARISM!!!
    *not really, but I’ve always wanted to scream that… now I have, and I return to my place with a contented sigh.*
    It looks scrumptious m’dear…

Leave a Reply

