Start-the-the-day-right Smoothie

 

Breakfast, anyone? I just got off my second round of HCG drops, during which you have to be on a very restrictive diet. Today was my first day of ‘Phase 3’, or P3 as we call it, and now anything but sugar and starch is on my menu. So. What should we have for breakfast? Eggs and bacon? Coconut flour pancakes? Why, NO! The one thing in the whole world that could possibly satisfy is THIS:

 

Start the day right Smoothie

AKA “Valerie has lost her mind and now actually craves vegetables” Smoothie.

1 cucumber, peeled and chunked. If the seeds are big and hard I’d get rid of them.

1 large handful frozen strawberries (Or whatever fruit you like – blueberry is good, but your smoothie will turn out brown. Just sayin’.)

1 large handful fresh baby spinach. From your garden if at all possible.

A good big glob of plain yogurt – maybe 1/4 cup.

2 Tbsp flax seed (half that if you have flax meal)

1 scoop vanilla protein powder, optional. There’s protein in flax and yogurt, so it’s up to you.

2-3 packets Sweetleaf stevia or natural sweetener of choice.

About 1/4 C water or juice, my blender at least doesn’t do much until there’s some liquid in there.

Blend, blend, blend away,’til you’re smoothie’s done! Sip it through a big fat straw, then exclaim “Oh yum!”.

Yes, I just wrote that to the tune of Row, Row, Row Your Boat.  Maybe this wasn’t the best way to start my day…

 

7 thoughts on “Start-the-the-day-right Smoothie

  1. I totally just had to go look up HCG drops… I had been wondering about the ‘P3’ and stuff on your Pinterest… are you finding it works for you?? Also, I am tempted to try this smoothie, but I’m scared… reassure me! 😉

    • HCG absolutely works. I lost 23 pounds in 5 weeks. And I know Deb has done several rounds and lost 30 pounds each round. It’s not exactly easy, but you do get results when you play by the rules! I keep meaning to do a post about HCG to clear up the mystery for you all, but I haven’t gotten there yet!
      And I know this smoothie sounds rather odd, but to help you along, you don’t taste the spinach at all. I’m a picky, picky eater and I’d notice if you could! Basically, the flavor is strawberry, vanilla from the protein powder, and cucumber. Not overwhelmingly cucumber, but it’s definitely there. But I think cucumber works well with fruit. Just make sure it’s sweetened enough, without extra sweetened it is a bit weird!

  2. Ceri this is Deb (in case the name change was confuzzling) and yes, I’ve lost 83 pounds thru doing HCG rounds. It really does work when you do it the way the rules say. It’s not easy by any means, but very worth it. 🙂

  3. Hey!
    Ok first off, this blog is not on your Pinterest. Yesterday I went shopping, and I have a cucumber and baby spinach, and I thought, hmmm. I know! I’ll try the start your day right smoothie. Do you KNOW how LONG it took me to find this post?! (Ok, under 5 minutes… but that is NOT the point!)

    Second, in responce to you and Deb (Deb, I did not see your responce until now. Boo!) I was telling my Mum about the hcg… but when I looked it up online, the diet plan I found looked silly. Yours seems way more sensible/doable. Do you have a website you could direct me to?! 😀

    Off to try the smoothie… brave soul!

    • Sorry it took so long to find, but… it actually IS on my pinterest. On two different boards. 😛 My “What I Cook” board and my HCG board. And speaking of which, I have to run right now, but when I get the chance I will get you some info about hcg!

Leave a Reply

