30 Day Meme, Days 7 AND 8: Fitness

7. How you came across tumblr, and how your life has changed since joining.

I didn’t. I never did. It hasn’t.

Apparently this was originally a tumblr meme… oops. I’ll do day 8 since this would be the world’s lamest blog post if I didn’t do SOMETHING.

8. Are you a fitness guru or a couch potato? Talk about your exercise habits.

Ummm, somewhere in between. Okay, to be honest, I am NOT ‘fit’. I do like to make sure I work out a few times a week, but abs of steel have I not,  and distance running does not sound like Fun to me. Growing up on a farm, I’ve always had sufficient upper body strength to surprise people, but that doesn’t make me a guru of anything. When I do exercise regularly, I like to do a yoga routine a couple of times a week (I have horribly tense neck and shoulder muscles, yoga definitely helps with that. And limbers up my legs, too.) and Turbo Jam* cardio, toning or abs routine. I mix it up because boredom with your routine is death to fitness.

To expound on Turbo Jam – it is my absolute favorite  video workout set EVER. I’ve tried several others, and found many roadblocks:

1.They start you out so advanced that you are discouraged from the beginning because you can’t keep up.

or

2. In some cases it actually too easy as in Walk Away the Pounds; great for those who really have join problems, etc., but I want a work out, not a stroll in the park.

or

3. The trainer is super annoying and talks incessantly. I won’t name any names, but she’s the woman who produces one of the systems I’ve mentioned, and it’s not Turbo Jam.

or

4. It gets boring. BORING I SAY. The music gets you. The beat. The very idea of turning that video on AGAIN makes you cringe.

So, the ways Turbo  Jam is different from the others I’ve used is that it solves the above-mentioned problems.

1. There is an introductory DVD where she shows you a lot of the basic moves she uses, and a 20 minute work-out that you can do over and over until you get used to them. That, and she continues to remind you how to so the moves correctly as you go along.

and

2. This is a real work-out. Very do-able even if you are out of shape, but it will have you sweating and breathless after 20 minutes. This is a good thing though.

and

3. Chalene Johnson is a lady who knows what she’s talking about, she’s spunky and genuinely funny. She doesn’t crack lame jokes and giggle over things that are not funny. She informs and educates you as you go while keeping it interesting, and also SHUTS UP once in a while.

and

4. This is the least boring workout ever. There are so many variables. She uses dance moves, martial arts, yoga, kick-boxing and I know not what all. And if you get the whole set there are like 4 different cardio routine mix-ups, so you don’t have to listen to the same music every single time you do your cardio. I really do finish up with a smile because it’s just fun. I hate being sweaty, but I don’t mind it when I’m doing Turbo Jam. And I’m not lying when I say, when I was doing it regularly, I’d be at work and feeling antsy because I wanted to go home and do my Turbo Jam cardio.

So, this is making me wonder… why did I ever stop???? Right now I’m only doing the abs routine once a week or so and throwing in a bit of yoga. Okay. Time to get of the computer and pop in a Turbo Jam.

*I bought mine, gently used, off e-bay for a really good deal. So if you feel like you don’t have a lot to spend on things like this, well, neither did I. Good things come to those who wait for deals. 😉

P.S. I am not getting paid to say any of this nice stuff about Turbo Jam. However, if you know a way for me to get money for saying nice stuff about anything I am open to suggestions.

4 thoughts on “30 Day Meme, Days 7 AND 8: Fitness

      • No, no, it’s not ME. It’s the government. See, if I had to pay you, then I could just say something nice back and veto that payment, and it would go back and forth until we broke out in an argument, we’d both be poverty stricken, and one of us would probably ultimately clobber the other as a result. The world would be in a worse place, not a better.

Leave a Reply

