Pineapple-Walnut Tea Sandwiches

Okay, this picture is another photographic fail on my part. In the hubbub of the whole production, I forgot to get good individual pictures of each recipe… this is as close as it gets (I even googled, and nobody else has pictures that I could sneak in.), and admittedly it does not look that appetizing. But trust me. I could eat the whole plate full if I weren’t to the level of health-consciousness that I am.

The original recipe I worked from actually made a sickeningly sweet filling. It needed tweaking*, so I  re-worked it until it was the right blend of pineapple-sweet and cream-cheese flavor and YUM.

2 C crushed pineapple, drained (1 standard can)

1 C sugar

1 C chopped walnuts

2  8oz. packages cream cheese, room temperature.

In a saucepan combine pineapple and sugar. Bring to a boil. Cook until thick, stirring constantly. Cool. Stir in nuts and cream cheese. Chill until ready to assemble sandwiches. For bread I used both whole wheat (good quality, not the cardboard cheap bread with brown dye and bran flecks to make you think it’s whole wheat) and sweet-potato breads. Spread about 3 Tbsp in each sandwich, trim crusts and cut diagonally each way to form small triangle sandwiches.

*I can. not. use the word “tweaking” without thinking of Tom Hanks in You’ve Got Mail.

“Tweaking? A project that needs tweaking? T-W-E-A-K-I-N-G? I think he’s married. Married, three kids.”

One thought on “Pineapple-Walnut Tea Sandwiches

  1. Pingback: Garden Tea Menu | Castle of Blue

Leave a Reply

