30 Day Meme, Day 2: Piercings

Day 2 of 30 Day Meme:

Talk about your piercings or tattoos, if you have any.

No tattoos. Don’t intend to get any.

And I have just normal pierced ears. However, I only got them pierced like a year and a half ago. My mom was always very much opposed to punching holes through flesh so we never got our ears pierced as children. Then in my teens I got permission to wear clip-on earrings. Then, I got into jewelry making and found clip-ons that LOOK like pierced earrings. Only they would fall off from time to time. I got to thinking about it; I LOOK like I have pierced ears to the world. I want to wear earrings on a daily basis. And it’s really annoying how they fall off and I can’t find hoops that don’t hurt, and I LOVE the look of hoop earrings. So, one day while out shopping with friends, I decided to get my ears pierced, called home on my trac-fone and sort of told/asked my Dad, and he said okay.

I realize that may sound weird to some people for a 23-year-old to be asking daddy if it’s okay to get her ears pierced, but you have to understand that I live at home with my parents and dad still provides me with an awful lot. I have no desire to start an uprising, so I try to still touch base with my dad when I want to do things like that. I pretty much knew he was going to be okay with it, but out of respect I let him know what was going on.

So, now that that’s out of the way… I do have a small though to get a second set of piercings but I’m not sure yet. I might just get an ear cuff, if I ever find one I like and can buy without feeling too guilty about the cost. Most of the ones I like are $30 or more and the thoughts of supporting a GFA missionary for a month with that money swirls round in my head and I just can’t do it.

3 thoughts on “30 Day Meme, Day 2: Piercings

  1. It’s amazing to me how similarly we were raised, LOL. My dad was opposed to pierced ears for the exact same reason (he always told us if God wanted us to have holes in our ears, He would have made us that way), and I wore clip ons all thru my teens. Until my sister, who was about 23 or 24 at the time, basically told my dad that if she was an adult, shouldn’t she be allowed to decide for herself and he reluctantly agreed. But THEN, much to her chagrin, he turned to me, who around 18-19 at the time, and said I could go ahead and get mine done too if I wanted. She weren’t too happy she had ta wait till she wuz 23 and I was 18 when I was given the go ahead. I ended up not doing it till I was 22 cuz I was too chicken up until then to let someone poke a needle thru my ear, LOL.

    • HAH, yes, that sort of thing has happened often in my family – the older girl finally gets the nerve to push against the rules, so Dad says “Oh, okay, I guess it’s alright for ALL of you to blahblahblah.” my life is easier because of Fauna, and Sharyl’s life has been an absolute breeze in comparison, lol! So many of the rules were changed before she even got to it being an issue!

  2. Lol… my oldest brother and I mercilessly tease the younger boys about how easy they have it compared to us, how much we’ve paved the way for them to have all the *stuff* we didn’t get until we were much older! Funny how that works.
    Ear cuffs are so cool! I was just talking to my Alex about that 🙂
    It’s always cool to check with the ‘top dog’ before doing something drastic (or even not so drastic!!)

Leave a Reply

