Tea for Twenty-five.

When the roses are in full bloom, you’ve been working so many hours that you feel like you don’t see any of your friends any more, and you’ve been on a diet so long you’ve nearly forgotten what it’s like to bake with white flour, what do you do? When, you host a garden tea and invite everyone, in hopes that at least a few can make it. Fortunately, they can. šŸ™‚

My friend Louise recently tried Lavender Lemonade and said she’s never make regular lemonade again. So of course, I had to try it. It’s beautiful, and delicious!

First course was a pear poaches in lemon and sherry, sitting atop a scoop of vanilla ice cream, drizzled with chocolate sauce and garnished with a pineapple flower. The flowers really were very pretty, this is just not the best picture of the results.

Then on to sandwiches; (savory) Turkey and Avocado or (sweet) Pineapple Walnut.

Scones… somehow I missed the savory Rosemary Cheddar scones when taking pictures, but they were AMAZING. And these pictured here are my favorite raspberry chocolate scones. (recipe at my old cooking blog)

Blueberry lemon tarts. I can’t wait to share this recipe with you, it’s a mash-up or a recipe from my favorite magazine, Julia Child, and my own improv. Marvelous results.

I am terribly bad at giving hostess gifts, which is why I am absolutely thrilled whenever I get one. My co-worker Robin brought me this gorgeous bouquet from her own garden. (She’s the florist I assist from time to time.)

It’s times like these that I dream of a very very large kitchen. But hey, they tell us life is better when we can live with simple things, so there ya go. Use your wood cook stove (un-lit!) as a counter-top and be happy! šŸ™‚

Whenever you throw a big party, I recommend recruiting a bestie or two. They keep you sane and generally come in handy. On the day of the tea, my Kacie was invaluable!

We both wore white, quite on accident. Have I mentioned i love white dresses? And lace? And bear feet? And fresh-cut grass?

And most important of all, remember that your friends are coming to have a relaxed time or friendship. If little things go wrong behind the scenes, they won’t have any idea unless YOU freak out about it. So just stay calm, have fun and let them think it all went how you meant it to. šŸ˜‰

 

P.S., sorry about the really long, picture-laden posts I’ve done the last couple of days… I don’t know why when I put in a cut it’s not working for me! If you have any suggestions as to what I’m doing wrong, I’d love to hear them.

Leave a Reply

