Fried Green Tomatoes?

Okay you foodie-writers out there… pretend you are describing friend green tomatoes to someone who has never tasted them, and can’t imagine what they are like. Well alright, don’t pretend. Do it for real.

You see, I’ve never tried them. I don’t like plain tomato, so they intimidate me. I’m sure they must taste quite different, not being ripe and all that… and being fried. But I’m not very adventuresome when it comes to vegetables. In recent times I’ve come to appreciate snow peas, cauliflower and red bell peppers as long as they are mixed with other things and well seasoned. Yeah, I was one of those kids.

So. I was helping customers pick out tomato plants today, and one of the was talking about how he couldn’t wait for fried green tomatoes. Which got me wondering. Do they taste tomato-ey? Savory? Sweet-ish? Mushy? Wet? Dry? Crispy? Tangy? DO THEY TASTE GREEN?? Someone tell me, please!

4 thoughts on “Fried Green Tomatoes?

  1. DILL PICKLES!! Fried Green Tomatoes taste rather like dill pickles (to me, anyway). Tangy, savory, sorta like they’re pickled, only they aren’t. Slice a green tomato in 1/8 to 1/4 inch slices, dredge slices in a mix of cornmeal, a little flour (maybe about 2 parts cornmeal, 1 part flour), salt, and pepper, then fry till lightly browned and crispy on both sides, they get crunchy on the outside and soft and tangy on the inside.

    My mom has resigned herself to sacrificing a few green tomatoes for my benefit cuz otherwise I’ll sneak a few out anyway *ahem*. Smaller ones seem to work better for frying. My mouth is watering just thinking about it. I refuse to let myself make any till I can eat cornmeal. They just aren’t right without the cornmeal coating. Hope that helps! Try it at least once, I think they’re better than red tomatoes. I don’t mind fresh red tomatoes, but I’m not the biggest fan either.

    • Well I love pickles, so that sounds awesome. And I figured I’d have to wait for P4 before trying them, but we don’t have tomatoes on the plants yet, so that’s fine. Mom has 50 (actually, closer to 60 because I threw in some romas and paste tomatoes when I picked out her plants at the greenhouse…) tomato plants this year, so I’m pretty sure she’ll have a few to spare for me to try this. Hah!

  2. Fried green tomatoes are first and foremost – Tangy. They are Firm, the seeds are Salty. Hot (if freshly fried). Crispy (use a batter with cornmeal in it for best results). Strong. They take you by surprise. They don’t taste like ‘tomatoes’ really, as one would think a tomato should taste, they taste like an intensified, overdrawn, rock star version of Tomato. Hard Core Tomato. Think of the difference between green bell pepper and red bell pepper, or green olives and black olives. It’s tomato taken seriously. It took me a while to get used to them, I was determined to like them so I kept trying them *until* I liked them. Cuz I’m weird like that. Now, they are a summer tradition.
    Green tomatoes are also excellent when stewed with brown sugar and spices to make Green Tomato Butter. A great way to save all those green tomatoes at the end of the season which will never ripen. I prefer it to apple butter on toast…
    ciao bella….

    • Now I’m antsy for tomatoes to get growing. Mom planted 50 plants this year, I *think* we will have a few to spare! We used to make green tomato mince-meat ages and ages ago for mince-meat cookies and pies, but green tomato butter sounds even better. Mmmmmm.

Leave a Reply

