She rises while it is yet night…

I have never, ever been a morning person. When it’s required, I’ll get up early, lurching awake to the sickening sound of an alarm going off and wondering if my eyes have indeed been glued shut. Back when my family owned and ran a produce business and I had to get up by 5 at the latest, I have been known to burst into tears. That was a long time ago though. *cough*  Until a couple of weeks ago I didn’t have to be at work until 9, but my hours have just been changed. I now have to be in at 8… which means… I have… to get. up. early.

So. I’ve been compiling a list of pros and cons about getting up early. Here is it.

Perks:

No one else is up yet. Time for you and Jesus to talk undisturbed.

N one else is up yet. You don’t have to wait in line for the bathroom.

No one else is up yet. This also means you can shave your legs in the kitchen while cooking your pancakes, and no one will ever know. Unless of course your brother suddenly wanders through. In that even you just simply smile and carry on as if nothing abnormal is happening whilst standing on one leg with your other foot on the kitchen sink.

No one else is up yet. You can eat the entire stack of six pancakes in one fell swoop, without a single witness. But then you go and blog about it and let the whole world (read:15 subscribers) know. But it’s already been done, so there’s nothing you can do about it!

Cons:

You might begin to pour lemon juice into the frying pan instead of oil.

The cats who are normally very dear to your heart are now the most annoying creatures on the face of the earth.

When you try to put your contacts in, your eyes revolt and screw themselves closed, tears pouring down your face.

I try to read scripture or some other edifying book over breakfast, and find that absolutely nothing sinks in. Nothing. Except maybe the make of the author.

No one else is up (have I mentioned that before?) so you really can’t make noise. If you want a smoothie for breakfast, you must put all the ingredients in the pitcher and then haul the entire contraption into your room to do the blending. And still feel guilty about the noise.

And lastly, getting up early requires you go to bed early, too. And no one else in my house does that. I kind of miss late-night movies with my family. *sigh*

4 thoughts on “She rises while it is yet night…

  1. And to add to the cons–your mother doesn’t quite know what to do because early morning is normally HER time to be alone, and suddenly you’re there chatting her ear off. And she can’t just relax and rest in her easy chair for a bit. And you start to feel bad for disrupting her routine. But shaving your legs in the kitchen is a definite pro of getting up early. Yes.

  2. The part about hauling your blender into your room made me hoot! Sounds like something I would do! I love to get up early, especially in the summer. The freshness of the day and the slow awakening of nature to light serves as the perfect inspiration for my own worship of Light!.

  3. You actually COOK that early in the morning? I’m not a morning person either and I don’t have to be at work until 8:30 on a normal day and I usually spend 45 minutes getting dressed, hair and makeup, then straighten the living room, empty the dishwasher, sweep the floor… then I throw some yogurt in a bowl with granola and inhale that while I check my e-mail. No way do I want to cook anything or dirty more dishes than I have to because I don’t want to have to clean up! lol!

    • Well, I need to have a high protein breakfast right now, and eggs just don’t cut it for me, so I have my soy/coconut flour pancakes. Nom nom. I just get up, make and eat breakfast, make my lunch, get dressed and go. And trust me, getting dressed takes about two minutes when you are a greenhouse worker. Tank and short, hair in a ponytail, you’re done. 😀 As for dishes, well, I have to admit I leave them and they either get done after I’m home from work or mom does them. Oh to have a dish washer…

Leave a Reply

